Already Sick of Christmas Music? Yea, Me Too

Happy December! If Thanksgiving didn’t do it for you, maybe the first of December will put you in the holiday cheery mood? Though, I would totally understand if you’re still not feeling it. Our world is in shambles! The Southeast is on fire while California is actually getting rain, our U.S. government is once again at war with the Native Americans, Pat McCrory still won’t accept that he lost North Carolina because of HB2, and the radio stations have been playing the same damn Christmas music since the 50’s!

Don’t get me wrong, I love Christmas music. I’ve been listening to it since that horror show that is a Trump election. But you can only hear “Let it Snow,” “Jingle Bell Rock,” “Sleigh Ride,” “Winter Wonderland,” Rudy, and Frosty, and countless other songs that have been around since my mom was a kid, so many times before you lose your ever-Christmas-lovin’ mind!

Every year, there are at least a few artists who drop a new Christmas record for the masses to consume. I loved Ariana Grande’s EP, Christmas and Chill, last year, and Trans-Siberian Orchestra is always my go-to band during the holidays, both their Christmas albums, and their original music. I attend their concerts faithfully every year, and this year’s no different. I can’t wait to see my sexy bass guitarist David Z, rock it out on stage next Sunday!

e3b3ed540dcb0116cebe513c6e2bd53e
via Pinterst

Unfortunately, the newer Christmas music doesn’t get much traction on the radio. For as long as I’ve been listening to TSO, I’ve only heard one of their songs played on the radio, and that’s their rendition of “Carol of the Bells,” which is actually titled “Christmas Eve / Sarajevo.” It is without a doubt their most popular song, and I crank up the volume every time it comes on, but they have three albums-worth—roughly around 60 songs—of Christmas music, and the radio stations can only play one?!

I guess I could just call in and request the music, but who wants to do that when we can simply create a Spotify playlist and fill it with all the songs we love to hear at Christmas. My playlist is nothing but TSO, with a little bit of Ariana Grande, a little bit of Kelly Clarkson, Pentatonix, Destiny’s Child, Mariah Carey, Kirk Franklin and the Family, and other artists whose Christmas music I love. I also have to add my Gospel tracks to the playlist, because you can’t have Christmas without first, the Christ.

Still, it would be nice to turn on the radio and listen to a Christmas song that I haven’t already heard 50 thousand times. Maybe that could be my next challenge, to write a Christmas song that would finally put a nail in the coffin of those oldies the world is so obsessed with playing. After all, I do write poetry, and what is music but poetry sung to piano, or guitar, or your favorite melodic instrument?

pexels-photo-230800

Are there any Christmas songs you are absolutely tired of hearing? I know I didn’t name them all. Which are your least favorite, and which do you wish would completely disappear from the human ear and mind?

By the way, I’ve kicked off my 31 Days of Holiday Hooligans challenge over on my other blog, Lovely Curses. Check it out, and if you love creating stories like I do, why not join the fun? Some of the best stories are the ones told at Christmastime, starting with a little baby boy born in a manger in Bethlehem.

Let me know you dropped by! I need the assurance that I'm not talking to myself...

